Today is a new day!

While this is the first official blog entry on this adventure, this journey began many months ago.  I started my transformation in March of 2014.  I had visited my doctor with elevated blood pressure, on the verge of a stroke, barely able to walk due to my knees hurting so bad all of the time.  I topped the scales at 300 lbs that day.  I know it wasn’t the heaviest I had ever weighed in at but it was close!  I knew it was time I did something for myself once and for all to take my health back and get things under control.  I made an appointment that day with Genesis Center for Weight Management.

That is the day my journey officially started.  I have been through battle after battle with losing weight over the past 20 years and have not been able to beat this horrible disease called obesity.  I knew it was going to take more than just a diet to regain my health once and for all.  I started following a dr. monitored 1200 calorie restricted diet, exercise program as well as the strict nutritional program through the center for several months.  Test after test, dr. after dr. but I was finally approved for my Roux En Y surgery in October 2014.

I had my surgery on December 15, 2014 laproscopic.  I weighed in the day of surgery at 243 which was a 57 lb weight loss!  I am very proud of that accomplishment!  Surgery went very well with no complications and very little pain to speak of.  I stayed in the hospital for 2 days and went home on December 17th that morning.  Other than being tired quite a bit and just slightly sore where my incisions were, I have had no other signs that I even had surgery to speak of!  I will say you get very sick of chicken broth very quickly and orange jell-o after eating it 3 times a day every day for a week!  I was very excited to make the switch to creamed soups and pudding!  Who would of thought!

The first week or so, I really never felt hunger.  All I did was concentrate on getting all of my protein in and try to get my liquids in.  That is a challenge as you have to decide between sleep and getting your fluids in sometimes.  After about a week, it did get easier to take in fluids and once I switched to cream soups, I could add my unflavored and chicken flavored protein powder to the soups to up my intake and not have to drink as much in shake form.  One can only drink so many of them before the smell starts to get to you. I make sure to keep my protein always about 60 g every day one way or another.  The recommended amount is 60-70 g daily.

I must admit I am really looking forward to the weekend when I move on to the next food phase and can start adding eggs, cheese, tuna, cottage cheese, mashed potatoes, apple sauce and such into my meals.  It will give me several new options to incorporate into my meals and not have to eat the same 3 things every day for a week straight.  This phase will last at least 2 weeks so I will have to get creative with the meal plans on this one until the next phase starts.  I am looking forward to the day I eat actual food again and can try to eat with the family somewhat again.  It is hard watching them eat some of the foods I love while I sip on strained soup and am craving the ability to just chew something!  I know it is mind over matter at this point and with time that will get easier.

I go to my first 2 week follow up appointment on Tuesday next week.  I am going back to work on Monday for the first time since surgery.  Hoping I can make it through the 9 hour day and not pay too dearly for it!   I get tired very easily as I do not take in hardly any calories at this point and just do not have my strength back yet from surgery.  I think that will come with time.

I hope this blog will help others as they consider this journey.  The choice I made to have the Roux En Y surgery was not made easily and should be considered carefully as it is a permanent choice that comes with great risk and many possible complications.  I chose this option as it was my best chance for long term success for permanent weight loss as well as resolving the many health issues I have that simple weight loss was not clearing up.  Every step of the way has been closely monitored by my numerous doctors.

Leave a comment